Akpabio names NASS members who got NDDC contracts


The Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, has released names of National Assembly members who were awarded contracts by the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

Those named include Hon. Peter Nwabaoshi, the Chairman of the Senate committee on Niger Delta who is said to have been awarded 53 projects.

Also named were Senator Matthew Urhoghide who got 6 projects, Senator James Manager with 6 contracts and Samuel Anyanwu who is a former senator got 19 projects.

Nicholas Mutu, a former Chairman of the House of Representatives Committee on the NDDC, , was also said to have been awarded a whooping 74 contracts which is the highest number of contracts awarded to a lawmakers.

Aniete Ekong, spokesman for the Minister confirmed that the document containing the names was has been to the National assembly where activities of NDDC are under investigation.

The document reveals that majority of the contracts were awarded in 2018 before the inauguration of the ninth assembly.

Mr Akpabio had earlier during an investigative sitting in the House or representatives said that majority of the contracts of NDDC were awarded to members of the National Assembly.

The Speaker of the House, Femi Gbajabiamila, gave Akpabio 48 hours to make the list public or face consequences. When the list was not forth coming, The Speaker threatened to sue the minister for defamation of character.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here